7 DAYS / 7 NIGHTS

16Nov08

Go.  Go see Hiroshi Sugimoto at Gagosian in Chelsea.

picture-45

Ligurian Sea, Saviore, 1993

picture-44

N. Pacific Ocean, Stinson Beach, 1994

picture-53

Lake Superior, Eagle River, 2003

For reasons that shall remain unnamed from this point forward, my family stopped going to church when I was 7 or 8. Still we’re all pretty spiritual people and have found our own paths, one way or another…

A few years ago, I read something my dad wrote in the midst of his highly personal search for religion: I felt a flash of brilliance so great that all other earthly desires faded.

I’ve had a hard time understanding and believing what he meant and am still not sure that I get it and/or that I ever will.  But, every once in awhile, I feel like I am close to comprehending.  I’m not an advocate of the gallery = church idea but walking into Gagosian yesterday was as close as it comes.

2 Responses to “7 DAYS / 7 NIGHTS”

  1. 1 Kristen McKee

    ahhh…very touching response…heartfelt in my heart from yours:) should be read!

  2. 2 Beth

    Your questions and attempts to connect with your dad’s experience really resonate! Most frustrating is trying to piece together the soul of my mother and father, now gone, from scant writings and photos in old albums.

    HOLES by Lillian Morrison

    Strangest of gaps
    their goneness-
    mother, father, loved friends

    the black holes
    of the astronomer
    are not more mysterieous

    this kind of hole
    will not be filled
    with candle flames
    or even a thousand thoughts

    the hole is inside us
    it brims over
    is empty and full at once.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

