where Did the summer go? (I’m so over irony)

09Sep08

An email from a favorite aunt about sailing and sleeping under the September stars in San Francisco with another favorite aunt reminded me of this photograph by Hannah Whitaker:

constellation2

Which in turn reminded me of summers long, long past in Colorado, when my sister and I were allowed to run out late and wild in the spirit of The Dinky Bird, inspired equally by this Maxfield Parrish print and the poem of the same name by Eugene Field, in a hand-me-down book.

pp32705

To follow-up on my long ago post on wanderlust, I’m now wondering if all summers are going to pass as quickly as this last one did, with less and less time for sun and sand, sweat and salt, stars, sunrises and sunsets. And worse, I worry that my nostalgia and everyone else’s nostalgia for such days is being replaced by a commercial version of the same feeling. Something more like this advertisement that I saw last spring in a movie theater and was pleased to laugh at, in chorus, in the theater when the Louis Vuitton logo appeared, and saw again this weekend before Vicky Christina Barcelona. I am relieved at least, by the laughter because I fear irony a bit, (although I am sure that irony was the cause of laughter in the theater, for better and not for worse). In particular, I think it is this love/hate uneasiness that makes Hannah Whitaker’s photographs interesting.

3 Responses to “where Did the summer go? (I’m so over irony)”

  1. 1 Katie

    I miss the old dinky bird days! And even though I don’t feel too far removed from them yet, I hope I never let a summer go by without some reminiscence of the dinky bird…

  2. 2 beth

    You’re right…don’t let any summer go by without taking time to enjoy the sun and the stars! The trick is to appreciate all the seasons of the year and of life. Thanks for conjuring up some great memories.

  3. 3 Juliette

    I too remember warm summer nights running wild in the spirit of the dinky bird, and I even remember that same dinky bird poster in my house when I was growing up. Favorite aunts are a good source of such memories . . . as are their sailboats. 😉 They make me confident that we’ll still remember those days long into the future.


Leave a Reply

