nice and happy and perfect and saved

23Sep08

Yesterday I was informed that it was the Autumnal Equinox and that it was the day of perfect balance and harmony between light and shadow and day and night. And, if I believed that the stars would save my life, that would have been the day… (sigh…)

And even though I don’t believe that the stars are going to save my life, today, walking home across the Williamsburg Bridge, I read these things on the pavement: “you’re beautiful,” “your job is not your life,” and “my god I’m so happy!” The first two were a result of a stencil, the work of an artist (consoling a girl/boyfriend or fulfilling some sort of public service?), but the last one was just scrawled across the sidewalk, making me wonder, who, in a spontaneous fit of joy, grabs a can of spray paint, without any sign of premeditation or planning (unlike the stenciler)? But it also made me think about Jason Evans who takes a photograph of something that makes him happy every day. His site, The Daily Nice, is about his “enthusiasm for looking and being.” It’s a fun site; photographs and taking photographs do make people happy, myself included.

This photograph is not from The Daily Nice but is from Jason’s portfolio site, The New Scent. I choose it because I think it is something that Jason saw while walking and looking down and thinking (like I was today). And maybe he was thinking about art and photography, and funny things that other people say, and other people, and seeing and being and loving. Maybe he was thinking about all the things that save your life when you know that astrology won’t.

7 Responses to “nice and happy and perfect and saved”

  1. 1 Marrone

    Funny, yesterday (9/22) I saw a faded stencil near where I was locking my bike that grabbed my attention, it read: “Santa is Real”.

    Did you ever hear about the Boston artist who left paintings around the city with notes for the finders to keep the paintings if they promised to smile at strangers more often? I actually met him a couple weeks ago at the Boston Arts Festival, his name is Bren Bataclan.

  2. 2 saradistin

    ha, ha. I hadn’t heard of Bren Bataclan but I’m all in favor of smiling at strangers… in most cases!

  3. 3 Kristen

    I love that image…of walking across the bridge…maybe even feeling a bit outside yourself and the crazy new york world…to notice those words:)

  4. 4 beth

    Jason’s sites are wonderful. Wish I could have accessed all his daily niceties! What a great way to start each day!

  5. 5 beth

    Seems after I read your blog I soon stumble upon something that reminds me of your words and images. For example, this poem, “So Much Happiness” by Naomi Shihab Nye…

    It is difficult to know what to do with so much happiness.
    With sadness there is something to rub against,
    A wound to tend with lotion and cloth.
    When the world falls in around you, you have pieces to pick up,
    Something to hold in your hands, like ticket stubs or change.

    But happiness floats.
    It doesn’t need you to hold it down.
    It doesn’t need anything.
    Happiness lands on the roof of the next house, singing,
    And disappears when it wants to.
    You are happy either way.
    Even the fact that you once lived in a peaceful tree house
    And now live over a quarry of noise and dust
    Cannot make you unhappy.
    Everything has a life of its own,
    It too could wake up filled with possibilities
    Of coffee cake and ripe peaches,
    And love even the floor which needs to be swept,
    The soiled linens and scratched records….

    Since there is no place large enough
    To contain so much happiness,
    You shrug, you raise your hands, and it flows out of you
    Into everything you touch. You are not responsible.
    You take no credit, as the night sky takes no credit
    For the moon, but continues to hold it, and to share it,

  6. 6 saradistin

    Naomi Shihab Nye is one of my favorite poets! I was introduced to her via this very poem, posted on the wall facing the toilet in a good friend’s brother’s bathroom in Seattle… !


  1. 1 so much happiness « black, white, and gray matters

Leave a Reply

